
Issued by:  Robert Hoglund, Senior Vice President & Chief Financial Officer, New York, NY 

PSC NO:  10 – Electricity                               Leaf: 356 
Consolidated Edison Company of New York, Inc.  Revision: 5 
Initial Effective Date:  04/01/2017 Superseding Revision: 4 
Issued in compliance with order in Case 15-E-0302 dated 02/22/2017 
 
 

GENERAL RULES 
 

26. Additional Delivery Charges and Adjustments - Continued 
  
26.5 Clean Energy Standard Delivery Surcharge 

 
The Clean Energy Standard Delivery Surcharge (“CESD”) is applicable to all Customers served under 
this Rate Schedule, except SC 11.  The CESD recovers costs associated with contracts signed by 
NYSERDA to maintain certain renewable energy facilities (“Tier 2 Maintenance Contracts”) and any 
funds required by NYSERDA to meet financial needs that result from its Clean Energy Standard 
activities (“Backstop Charges”).  The amount to be collected under this Rate Schedule is equal to the 
total amount required to be collected less amounts allocated for collection under the PASNY Tariff.   
 
The Statement of CESD (“Statement”) sets forth separate charges for the two components: Tier 2 
Maintenance Contracts and Backstop Charges.  The recovery of costs associated with Tier 2 
Maintenance Contracts will be determined for each 12-month period beginning April 1.  The recovery of 
costs associated with Backstop Charges will be set for a period of one-to-twelve months depending on 
the size of the costs.  The charge for each component will collect the estimated costs for that component 
over its applicable collection period and the difference, excluding Uncollectible-bill Expense, between 
the actual costs and amounts recovered for that component for prior periods.   
 
An adjustment will be made to the total charge for each component to reflect Uncollectible-bill Expense.  
Uncollectible-bill Expense will be determined using the Uncollectible Bill Factor identified in General 
Rule 26.1.2(b).   
 
The unit amount to be charged for each collection period will be determined by dividing the amount to 
be collected by the forecasted kWhr deliveries for the collection period.  Each charge will be determined 
on a cents per-kilowatthour basis, taken to the nearest 0.0001 cent.   
 
The initial Statement is filed with the Public Service Commission to become effective April 1, 2017, and 
is applicable to bills with a “from” date on or after April 1, 2017.  Subsequent Statements will be filed to 
become effective not less than 15 days before their effective date.  Each Statement will be posted to the 
Company’s website on or before its effective date. 
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