Received: 06/01/1998 Status: CANCELLED Effective Date: 10/01/1998

..DID: 3848

..TXT: PSC NO: 12 GAS LEAF: 25

COMPANY: THE BROOKLYN UNION GAS COMPANY REVISION: 0

INITIAL EFFECTIVE DATE: 10/01/98 SUPERSEDING REVISION:

STAMPS:

Cancelled by 1 Rev. Leaf No. 25 Effective 10/01/1998

RECEIVED: 06/01/98 STATUS: Cancelled EFFECTIVE: 10/01/98 GENERAL INFORMATION - Continued

If the Company intends to require a deposit under subparagraph (I), the customer must receive written notice, at least 20 days prior to the time the deposit may be assessed, informing them that failure to make timely payment will allow the Company to require the payment of a deposit.

If the Company requires a deposit from a current residential customer who is delinquent by virtue of failure to make a reasonable payment of arrears, the customer shall be permitted to pay the deposit in installments over a period not to exceed twelve months.

The Company shall not require any customer it knows to be a recipient of public assistance, supplemental security income or additional state payments to post a security deposit. Likewise, no security deposit will be required from any customer known to be 62 years of age or older unless such customer has had gas service terminated by the Company for non-payment of bills within the preceding six months.

In those instances where deposits are authorized to be collected, it may be equal to two times the estimated average monthly bill for a calendar year. In the case of a heating customer, deposits may not exceed two times the estimated average monthly bill for the heating season.

C. Deposit Refund:

For all customers, a deposit refund will be credited to the customer's account. Deposits shall be credited with simple interest at the rate prescribed from time to time by the Public Service commission, as required by Sub-chapter A, Chapter III, Title 16 of the New York Code of Rules and Regulations, Part 225.3.

Issued by: Robert J. Fani, Senior Vice President, Brooklyn, New York