Received: 03/01/2013 Status: CANCELLED Effective Date: 04/01/2013

PSC NO: 10 – Electricity

Consolidated Edison Company of New York, Inc.

Initial Effective Date: 04/01/2013

Leaf: 102

Revision: 1

Superseding Revision: 0

Issued in compliance with order in Case 09-E-0428 dated 03/26/2010

GENERAL RULES

12. Payments

12.1 Payment of Bills, Charge for Late Payment, and Charge for Dishonored Payment

Bills of the Company for service are due on presentation if hand delivered or provided electronically, or three days after the mailing of the bill, and are payable by mail, electronically, or at any customer service walk-in center of the Company or to any duly authorized collector of the Company.

A late payment charge at the rate of one and one-half percent (1 1/2%) per monthly billing period will be applied to the accounts of all Customers as provided herein, except for state agencies which instead will be subject to interest charges in accordance with the provisions of State Finance Law Article XI-A (L. 1984, Ch. 153, effective July 1, 1984). The charge will be applied to all amounts billed, including arrears, and unpaid late payment charges which are not received by the Company within at least 20 days of the date payment is due. The charge will also be applied to amounts due by non-residential Customers under deferred payment agreements for arrears. The charge will not be applied to backbills unless the backbill is for service to or through tampered equipment, or the Company can demonstrate either that the unbilled service condition began since the Customer initiated service or that the Customer knew or reasonably should have known that the original billing was incorrect. In addition, the Company reserves the right to discontinue service and/or to take any other action permitted by law with respect to any Customer who fails to make full and timely payment of all amounts due the Company. The late payment charge will be applied to the account of any such person or Customer in cases where the Company has underbilled, or failed to bill, because the person or Customer was receiving service through tampered equipment. The charge will apply to the amounts found to be due and owing for each monthly billing period, including all amounts due for preceding monthly billing periods and any late payment charges thereon. Notwithstanding any other provision in this paragraph, the charge will not apply unless the Company can demonstrate either that the condition began on or after the date the Customer initiated service, or that the Customer actually knew, or reasonably should have known the original billing was incorrect.

The Company shall waive the first late payment charge assessed on the account of a Customer receiving service under SC 1.

Pursuant to Public Service Law Section 38, the Company shall offer any residential Customer, 62 years of age or older, a plan for payment on a quarterly basis of the charges for service rendered, provided that such Customer's average annual billing by the Company is not more than \$150.

An applicant or Customer making payment by a negotiable instrument (including an electronic payment) that is subsequently dishonored shall be liable for a fee of \$12.00 and under the rules, immediate service termination.

Issued by: Robert Hoglund, Senior Vice President & Chief Financial Officer, New York, NY